Ten Philanthropists recognized for their Good Will and Giving


Recipients of the 2011 Carnegie Medal of Philanthropy, which recognizes philanthropists who, like Andrew Carnegie, believe in dedicating their private wealth to the public good, will receive Carnegie Medals at an invitation-only ceremony at the New York Public Library on October 20th.

The Carnegie Medal of Philanthropy, now in its 10th year, is awarded every two years to individuals and families in recognition of their exceptional and sustained records of philanthropic giving as well as the important and lasting impact their philanthropy has had on a field, nation, or on the international community.

The ceremony will be hosted by Christiane Amanpour, anchor of ABC News’s “This Week” and former chief international correspondent at CNN.  The philanthropic activities of this year’s Carnegie Medalists span the globe and include pioneering support in education, culture, art, international peace, justice, science, citizenship, research, healthcare, technology, and the environment. READ MORE


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s